Cuba participates in the FAO regional conference – Escompre

Cuba begins its participation in the 37th Conference of the Food and Agriculture Organization of the United Nations (FAO), which takes place in Ecuador on Monday.

The Greater Antilles Regional Event is represented by a delegation led by Minister of Agriculture Yadel Perez, and made up of Orlando Diaz, Director of International Relations and Carlos Fidel Martin, Director of International Organizations of the Ministry of Foreign Trade. Foreign investment.

It was formed by Basilio Guterres, Cuba’s ambassador to Ecuador, and Juan Barra, the business economic coordinator of the diplomatic mission.

Julio A., FAO Regional Director for Latin America and the Caribbean. The Cuban Minister’s agenda began with meetings with Ministers and senior representatives of the United Nations, including Berdegu, in which both officials recognized the validity of bilateral cooperation. , Described as historical.

Similarly, they agreed to the option of continuing south-south and triangular cooperation.

Also, in the opening session, the head of the Directorate of International Affairs of the Ministry of Agriculture condemned the negative effects of the economic, financial and trade blockade being maintained by the United States. For more than 60 years against the Caribbean nation, it has controlled the growth of its agri-food programs.

In addition to participating in work sessions, the Island Regional Committee will hold bilateral meetings and exchanges with diplomats and Cuban government officials representing Ecuador, as well as Cubans living in this South American country.

Cuba is one of 33 countries participating in the event, which is scheduled for April 1, and will evaluate and propose policies aimed at sustainable and efficient agricultural food.

The conference is attended by Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Dominica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Granada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, and Honduras. Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru and the Dominican Republic.

Teams from Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Saint Lucia, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela are also participating.

From Wednesday, March 30 to Friday, April 1, delegates will address issues relevant to the region, including food sovereignty, healthy nutrition, family farming, and the effects of climate change.

From the Valley Post.